Indian History

Indian Constitution

No. Parliament
1. Articles 79 to 122 in Part V of Indian Constitution contains provisions about Parliament.
2. According to Article 79 parliament consists of
a) The President and
b) Two Houses namely Council of States and House of the People.
3. Council of States(Rajya Sabha) is the upper house. House of the People(Lok Sabha) is the lower house
4.. Power of the Parliament:
4. Power to make laws on the subjects included in the Union List and the Concurrent List.
4. Exercising control over union executive(union council of ministers).
4. Approving money bills, approve new taxes, revise old taxes and abolish existing taxes.
4. Impeaching the President, the Vice-President, the Chief Justice and other Judges of the Supreme Court and High Courts on the ground of corruption, inefficiency etc.
4. Amending the provisions of the Indian Constitution as per Article 368.
4. Electing President and Vice-President.
4. Discussing at length the contemporary national and international issues.
4. power to create new states or alter the boundaries of States and to change name of the states.
4. Power to create or abolish State Legislative Council.
4. Union executive(union council of ministers) shall be responsible to the parliament.