Indian History

Constitutional Developments

      Constitutional Developments
No. Constitutional Developments
1. The Charter Act 1861 is the first step of the Constitutional Government in India.
2. The Indian Councils Act, 1892 introduces elections for the first time in India in indirect method.
3. The Government of India Act, 1919 was a landmark in the constitutional history of India. It introduces the dyarchy in Provinces.
4. The Government of India Act, 1935 gave atonomy to the provinces by abolishing dual Government. The Act introduced dual Government at Center. The Act divided the powers between the union and provinces into three lists: a)Federal List b)Provincial List c)Concurrent List.
5. The Governor General is authorised to make legislations on the residuary powers.
6. The provisions of the constitution regarding fundamental rights, Judicial Review President as the Executive head and supreme commander of the Armay, preamble, independence of judiciary are adopted from U.S.A. constitution.
7. The provisions regarding rule of law, law making procedure, single citizenship and Parliamentory are adopted from U.K. constitution.
8. Fundamental duties are adopted from U.S.S.R. constitution.
9. Directive principles, method of election of president, nomination of members to Rajya Sabha by the president are adopted from Irish constitution.
10. Procedure Established by law is adopted from Japan constitution.
11. The election of members to Rajya sabha and constitution Amendments are adopted from South African constitution
12. The provisions regarding trade commerce and intercourse and concurrent List are adopted from Australian constitution.
13. The provisions regarding emergency are adopted from Germany.
14. The original constitution had 22 parts 8 scehedules 395 articles.
15. Inclusion of the word Fraternity is proposed by Dr.B.R.Ambedkar.